We are delighted to announce the appointment of Simon Wilkins as our conductor form January 2018. We very much look forward to working with him.

After studies with Michael Mace and playing with Southampton Youth Orchestras, Simon Wilkins studied music at undergraduate and post graduate level at Royal Holloway, University of London.
Amongst classes in performance, composition, quartet playing and ethnmusicology Simon joined the university's conducting course and was coached by Levon Parikian for two years. In 2013 he took over conducting Marchwood Orchestra, a small orchestra based near the new forest, which has grown in ability and scope in successive years. Sion also developed an interest in writing music, and after a few "interesting experiments" at university his orchestral composition "The Rising Sun" was performed as runner up in the University of St Andrew's anniversary composition in 2011, since when Simon has also been approached to write music for Andover Choral Society and a symphony for the Marchwood Orchestra. As a p[erformer he has performed concertos by Tchaikovsky, Hayden and Vivaldi and will be performing Saint-Saens' first cello concerto in the summer  2018


Saturday March 17th. 2018

Rossini - Silken Ladder

Resphigi - The Birds

Mozart - Les Petits Riens

Beethoven - 7th Symphony